Uncategorized

Ludacris Talks His Secrets To Success In Dining


A successful music and movie career aren’t the only things Ludacris has under his belt. The entertainer/entrepreneur owns a restaurant called “Straits Atlanta,” which specializes in Singaporean cuisine.

He partnered up with Chef Chris Yeo in 2007 to open the now booming restaurant. Straits Atlanta specializes in unique dishes like Yeo’s signautre Kung Pao chicken lollipops (which sounds delicious, btw). BlackEnterprise.com caught up with Ludacris to discuss the inspiration behind opening the restaurant and how it became the four years and running success it is now.

Check out an excerpt from the interview below.

How did you decide on Singaporean cuisine being the basis of your restaurant’s menu?

Man, it’s some of my favorite food and I never want to be typical. People think if I open a restaurant that it’s automatically going to be soul food. I love to throw curve balls to people all the time; I love to be different, I strive for excellence. Atlanta is just one of these places where it’s a melting pot when it comes to so many different cultures and styles, and I just wanted to play towards that because people appreciate good food and with a little bit of an ethnic twist to it.

How did you get introduced to Singaporean cuisine?

Just traveling all over the world and, like I said, taking some of my personal experiences and things that I love and bringing them to the city that I love and I partnered with someone who has a love and interest for [it as well]. My business partner [Chef Yeo] and I met at a foundation event so we both had that in common and got to talking and one thing led to another and we decided to go ahead and do this restaurant here in Atlanta, GA.

Read the rest of the interview here.

Leave a Reply

