news / Uncategorized

Trina Leaves Slip-N-Slide Records….Talks Maybach Music


Miami rapper Trina has been making her rounds in the media lately, promoting her new single “Long Heels Red Bottoms,” during which she recently revealed that she is no longer affiliated with longtime label, Slip-N-Slide Records.

During an interview on MTV’s RapFix couch, she announced the news and addressed rumors that she is joining Rick Ross’ Maybach Music Group.

“I’m no longer considered to be affiliated with Slip-n-Slide,” Trina revealed. “Slip-n-Slide is like my family. I grew up with those guys, and it’s been a long journey. I love them dearly, but it’s time, in my career, for me to move forward, and I’m excited about taking the next step and seeing what’s there for me.

“I’m not the kid on Slip-n-Slide’s roster anymore,” she continued. “I’ve spent my whole career with Slip-n-Slide — five albums — and I’m really excited about going forward without them, but I still look at them as family, no matter what.”

As far as rumors about working with Rick Ross, Trina didn’t confirm any official move, but did say she’s will be working with Ross on her next album.

“Ross has been a mentor in my career from the start,” she explained. “Even before the world got a chance to see him, he was a part of my team. For him to come out and be very successful and do his thing and for me to still have him in my life, it’s a blessing. For me to work with him on my sixth album and have him there to guide it, understand what I want and see my vision, that means everything to me.”

Right now, her new label situation is a “secret.”

Trina is currently in the studio, hard at work, on her next album. She said Rozay is helping guide her in the creation of the unnamed album, and said fans shouldn’t expect too many features when it drops in 2012.

Leave a Reply

